Friday 24. June 2022

Graduation Ceremony at Hrafnseyri

On June 17 the University Centre held its annual convocation, celebrating the graduation of masters students, in connection with Iceland’s National Day ceremony at Hrafnseyri in Arnarfjörður. This event has been held since 2009 when the first students graduated from the Coastal and Marine Management master’s program.

A total of eleven students graduated this year, ten from the Coastal and Marine Management program and one from Coastal Communities and Regional Development. By the end of last school year an additional five students graduated, five from CMM and one from CRD, and these students also had the opportunity to take part in the celebration at Hrafnseyri. There is also a long-standing tradition that graduates from previous cohorts participate and have the opportunity to receive their cap with tassel and a birch tree to plant. This year was no exception in that respect.

On behalf of the University of Akureyri, Professor Oddur Þór Vilhelmsson Dean of the School of Business and Science addressed the candidates and guests as well as handing out the diplomas. In his talk Professor Vilhelmsson discussed the long standing and fruitful cooperation between UW and UNAK and gave special thanks to Þorsteinn Gunnarsson, former rector of UNAK for his vision in expanding UNAK’s efforts in rural areas of Iceland such as the Westfjords. Dr. Peter Weiss, director of the University Centre also gave a talk and addressed the candidates, “Today is this great day when your studies lie behind you. You will hold your certificate in your hands, which lists diligently the learning outcomes – while it keeps silent on your self-development. What is the most important dower is the most difficult to assess, to measure, to record, and it is even what we hardly become aware of ourselves.”

Congratulations to all candidates on their achievements and best of luck in the future!

Candidates with Oddur Þór Vilhelmsson, Þorsteinn Gunnarsson and Peter Weiss.
Candidates with Oddur Þór Vilhelmsson, Þorsteinn Gunnarsson and Peter Weiss.