Webinar for Coastal Studies: Two International Master's Programs

Join our program directors, Dr. Brack Hale and Dr. Matthias Kokorsch, as well as a current student to find out more about the two international multidisciplinary masters programs offered at the University Centre of the Westfjords:

- Coastal Communities and Regional Development
- Coastal and Marine Management

Sign up here!

We will be covering some of the following topics:

- Why study coastal studies?
- Why study in Ísafjörður/Westfjords?
- The programs’ structure
- A student‘s perspective
- Job prospects
- Admission

The presentation takes place at February 8th, 2023 4pm GMT (5 PM CET; 6 PM EET; 11 AM EST;  8 AM PST).

 

Coastal Communities and Regional Development (MA degree)

Are you fascinated by the roles of culture, economics, geography and planning in coastal societies? Do your interests include social change and innovation? This program gives you the chance to delve deep into these issues by combining research and real-life experiences. The program is especially built on the principle and practice of human geography, sustainable development and resilience, sociology, planning and economics.

Coastal and Marine Management (MRM degree)

Are you interested in finding solutions to interdisciplinary coastal and marine management problems? This program provides a unique chance to combine research and practice. The aim is to give students a solid basis for an exciting career in the growing field of coastal and marine management worldwide. The program is especially built on the principle and practice of ecology, oceanography, management and planning.

 

Key Points:

  • 120 ECTS, courses and thesis
    • Modular course structure, teachers from around the world
    • Small groups, good access to teachers and staff
    • Field trips, company visits, and practical projects
    • Live in a rural sub-Arctic coastal community
    • Summer term learning shortens overall program length
    • Excellent academic and work facilities
    • Exciting elective courses on offer

Both programs are taught at the University Centre of the Westfjords in cooperation with the degree awarding University of Akureyri.

Conditions for acceptance into the programs are that the applicant must have completed an undergraduate university degree BA, BSc or BEd. 

For further information and application form please visit: https://www.uw.is/lang/en/

Or direct program webpages:
https://www.uw.is/communities/
https://www.uw.is/coastal/

Feel free to send inquiries to info@uw.is

Upcoming

Spring Term Starts

First day of teaching after winter break is 9 January. Welcome back!

Upcoming